Cape baseball team hopes to return to DIAA Championship

March 7, 2019

It’s hard to improve on a 2018 state championship season, but Cape head coach Ben Evick is looking forward to seeing if his 2019 squad can step up and lead the Vikings back to the show.

The Vikings defeated Caravel 5-3 to take the DIAA trophy in 2018.

“We have nine guys returning from last year’s team,” Evick said. “We’re excited because this team is a tight-knit group right now. These guys have literally been working hard together since we came back to school in September. They’ve been in the weight room three days a week pushing each other. They came out on their own to get together as a team, coming out on nice days. They are hungry to get this going, setting some goals and winning some games.”

Cape returns seniors Luke Smailer, Parker Brown, Logan Dominick, Grant Evans, Mason Fluharty, Ryan Gibbons, Jackson Ostroski and Timmy Vitella. Luke Johnson is the lone junior returning to the varsity lineup. Other juniors joining the team are Robert Baxley, Mason Carrow, Sean Clendaniel, Levi Clifton and Edward Joyce. Sophomores pulled up to the varsity squad are Ty Husbands, Matt Newcomb and Hunter Rauch.

“We are excited for the young guys,” said Evick. “They are ready to step in. Hopefully they’re ready to step up.”

Returning to the mound are Fluharty, Johnson and Brown.

“It’s going to be tight to pick someone to be the one on the mound. Mason throws in the low 90s and is left-handed, and Luke and Parker are great too,” said Evick. “When Mason is on, he’s one of the best in the state.”

The Vikings will have heavy bats from Fluharty, Evans, Vitella, Ostroski, Johnson and Gibbons.

The Vikings will open the 2019 campaign Friday, March 22, hosting Sussex Tech.