Cape girls’ lax banquet is comfortable, like an old hat

13 state titles in a row for the Vikings
June 23, 2022

The 13th state championship banquet since 2009 was held June 21 for the Cape Henlopen girls’ lacrosse team. It has become comfortable, like an old hat thrown on the dashboard of a vintage pickup truck. 

And what was in the goodie bag of each player and coach at the banquet at Baywood Greens? A new hat.

The succession of numbers is staggering: 13 state championships in a row, an in-state winning streak of 165 games, 40-0 record in state tournament appearances, including 13-0 in title games. 

Special team awards handed out included: Ella Rishko, Team MVP; Megan Smith, Defensive MVP; Molly Mendes, Offensive MVP and Ground Ball Award; Lina Frederick, Running Award; Grace Wiggins, Most Improved; Kelly Bragg and Lulu Rishko, Unsung Heroes; Lexi Nowakowski, Mack Brown and Anna Lopez, Kesmodel Award; Lexi Truitt, Montana Jones and Maren Buckaloo, Coach’s Award; and Sierra Manifold, Sportsmanship Award. The JV Sportsmanship Award went to Kathryn Wyshock.

Cape graduates only five seniors, including Ella Rishko, Bragg, Buckaloo, Mendes and Manifold. 

The team returns eight starters in the quest to stay above the fray, except for play days.   


Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter