Milton 8-10 all-stars win District 3 championship

July 9, 2024

The Milton 8-10 all-stars defeated Nanticoke 3-2 for the second time in three days to garner the District 3 title July 8 at the Georgetown Little League complex.

Milton got on the board first in the bottom of the first inning on a sacrifice fly by Dominic Nelson, scoring Jacob Reynolds from third. They picked up the second run from Jaxon Kulp on a passed ball.

Nanticoke tied it up in the top of the second, and the game stayed knotted at 2-2 until the fifth inning, when Easton Goodwin pounded a ground out to first to score Ronan Lotter.

Kulp shut down the Nanticoke all-stars in the sixth thanks to a big-league double play from shortstop Hudson Hartstein, who scooped up the ball, stepped on second and threw to Krew Johnson at first for the double play.

“That double play was absolutely insane,” said Milton manager Mike Nelson. “That was major league stuff right there.”

“Nothing was in my mind, “said Hartstein. “It was all instinct. Then I threw the ball to first and the people in the stands went crazy.”

Kulp went the distance on the mound, allowing two earned runs on just five hits while striking out five batters. He also went 1-for-2 at the plate.

Nole Beam had the other hit for the Milton squad, while Nelson and Godwin each slammed an RBI.

Tucker Smith started the game for the Seaford-based team, allowing two runs and striking out two. Yadier Sorcia came in from the bullpen in the second inning, allowing one earned run while striking out eight batters.

Max Lathberry and Bayani Patton each knocked in a run for Nanticoke.

The Milton squad will take some time off before kicking off the state tournament Tuesday, July 23, at Canal Little League in Newark.


Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter