Myers, Derrick continue leadership of Cape school board

Tyndall begins second full term representing Area A
July 18, 2023

Cape Henlopen school board President Alison Myers and Vice President Julie Derrick will maintain their positions in the 2023-24 academic year after a unanimous vote at the board’s annual reorganization meeting July 13.

First elected to her at-large seat in 2014, Myers was re-elected in 2019 and has served as president since 2018. A former special education teacher, Myers holds a bachelor's degree in economics, a master's degree in education and a doctorate in educational leadership, all from the University of Delaware. 

Derrick, whose Area D seat encompasses Rehoboth and Dewey, ran unopposed in 2017 and 2022, and has been vice president since 2021. Derrick has a bachelor’s degree in music from the University of Virginia and a master’s degree with dual certification in elementary and special education from Wilmington University.

The evening also marked the beginning of board member Jessica Tyndall’s second full term representing Area A, the greater Milton area. 

She first served from 2016-18, completing two years of the term held by Noble Prettyman, who died in 2015. Jackie Briscoe, appointed by the board to replace Prettyman after his death, chose not to run for election. In 2018, Tyndall ran unopposed for her first full term, and she was reelected May 9, defeating challenger Shawn Lovenguth 2,516 to 1,408 in total votes.

The board appointed Superintendent Bob Fulton as its executive secretary.

Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter