Rehoboth Beach Mayor Stan Mills files for re-election

No other candidates; filing deadline for city’s 2023 election is June 5
May 19, 2023

Story Location:
Rehoboth Beach City Hall
229 Rehoboth Avenue
Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
United States

With a little less than three weeks until the filing deadline for Rehoboth Beach’s 2023 municipal election, Mayor Stan Mills has filed for re-election.

Mills, who is in his first term as mayor, filed May 16. Prior to being elected mayor in 2020, he spent 12 years as a commissioner, ending in 2019.

The city is at an interesting point, said Mills in an email May 18. He listed a number of projects that have started in the past few years – there’s a new city manager; a robust budget and capital improvement plan; the city’s first implementation plan to address comprehensive plan recommendations; plans for a new beach patrol and public restroom facility on the Boardwalk at Baltimore Avenue; continued development of streetscape improvements for Wilmington and Baltimore avenues; addressing management of the city’s lakes and stormwater runoff.

“I am running for re-election because I am the best person for the leadership position held by the mayor,” said Mills. “I look forward to continue working for the betterment of the city.”

Mills is looking to end a streak of voters choosing a new mayor – Mills defeated former Mayor Paul Kuhns in 2020. Kuhns defeated former Mayor Sam Cooper in 2017. Cooper had held the seat since 1990.

There was no election last year, as incumbent Commissioner Edward Chrzanowski and Commissioner Francis “Bunky” Markert were the only people to file. It was the first time in nearly a decade the city didn’t have an election. According to city voting records dating back to 1990, the last time there had ben no election in Rehoboth was 2013.

Commissioners Patrick Gossett and Jay Lagree are up for re-election this year. As of May 18, Mills is the only person to file for re-election.

Election information

Rehoboth Beach’s 2023 annual municipal election is Saturday, Aug. 12. Interested candidates must turn in a petition signed by at least 10 qualified voters, but no more than 25, to the city manager by 4:30 p.m., Monday, June 5. To get a nominating petition, submit a request to or call Donna Moore or Steven Perry 302-227-6181, Ext. 159.

To be eligible to vote, a person must be 18, a resident, freeholder or leaseholder, and registered in the city’s books of registered voters. If a registered voter misses two consecutive annual elections, their name will be placed on an inactive list and they will be notified by postcard requesting their voting status. The deadline to register is on or before Thursday, July 13.

Absentee ballots will be available beginning Wednesday, June 28. Ballots will be sent to everyone who has an absentee ballot request form on file. Any qualified elector may request an absentee ballot to vote by filing a request for an absentee ballot form no later than noon, Friday, Aug. 11. The deadline for the city to mail ballots is Tuesday, Aug. 8. Ballots must be received by mail or in person before the polls close on the day of the election.


Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter