Richards, Derrickson now Henlopen Acres commissioners

Mayor Joni Reich continues in office for another year
September 24, 2021

Story Location:
Henlopen Acres Town Hall
104 Tidewaters
Henlopen Acres, DE 19971
United States

Beginning with the swearing-in of town election winners Beatrix ‘Paddy’ Richards and Tiffany Derrickson, Henlopen Acres held its annual organizational meeting Sept. 10.

The two women won three-year terms by defeating Lyndie Hertrich and John Shedletsky in the Aug. 28 election. Richards has served consecutive terms since being appointed in 2007 and is the longest-tenured commissioner on the board. Derrickson is a newcomer to the board, but grew up in and is a resident of Henlopen Acres.

It was the first time in 10 years the town had a contested race. There have been other elections, but they’ve all been uncontested, said Commissioner Richard Thompson.

Former Commissioner Andrew Brittingham did not run for re-election. He had been a commissioner since 2012.

Following the swearing-in of Richards and Derrickson, commissioners all voted in favor of having Mayor Joni Reich continue in that role for another year. Reich has been a commissioner since 2014 and mayor since May 2018.

For officer positions, Reich nominated, and commissioners approved, Commissioner Timothy Hidell as president pro tempore, Commissioner Jeffrey Jacobs as treasurer, Derrickson as secretary and Town Manager Tom Roth as assistant treasurer.

The board of commissioners’ next meeting is scheduled for 10 a.m., Friday, Oct. 10, in Henlopen Acres Town Hall, 104 Tidewaters.

Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter