New youth philanthropy board members named

November 24, 2021

The Delaware Community Foundation announced 46 high school seniors, juniors and sophomores will experience the triumphs and challenges of being philanthropists this year through its youth philanthropy boards in each of the state’s three counties.

The boards include students from public, private and parochial schools. The foundation gives the New Castle County board $15,000, and the Kent and Sussex county student boards $10,000 each to award to local charities. The students work together to choose a focus area, solicit and review grant applications, conduct site visits and decide how to distribute the money to have the greatest impact.

Grant applications will be available at in early December and will be due in January.

“The Youth Philanthropy Board program does more than give kids the chance to make a difference,” said Stuart Comstock-Gay, DCF president and CEO. “It gets them out into the community to experience firsthand the impact their work has on people’s lives.”

This year’s Sussex County participants are Jacob Adkins, senior, Delmar High School; Mirta Angel-Gabriel, junior, Laurel High School; Abby Betts, junior, Cape Henlopen High School; Peyton Campbell, senior, Sussex Academy; Vicky Chan, junior, Indian River High School; Daykhi Conquest-Carey, junior, Sussex Central High School; Brooke Emeigh, senior, Worcester Preparatory School; Michael Fagundes-Rocha, junior, Sussex Central High School; Joscelyn Gamarra-Gutierrez, senior, Seaford High School; Prabh Kaur, senior, Sussex Academy; Quinlyn Long, senior, Cape Henlopen High School; Hussain Mahdi, junior, Cape Henlopen High School; McKenna Miller, junior, Indian River High School; Stella Pogwist, junior, Sussex Tech High School; Ashlyn Toppin, senior, Laurel High School; Doralynn Ventura-Lopez, junior, Sussex Academy; Katie Whaley, junior, Sussex Tech High School; and Kathy Zhang, junior, Worcester Preparatory School.

Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter