Zamora doubles up at DWGA Amateur

August 7, 2021

Congratulations to Arlene Zamora for her victory at the 2021 DWGA Women’s Amateur Championship, held July 12-13 at Rock Manor Golf Club near Wilmington. Zamora completed a double, having won the DWGA Senior Women’s Amateur June 2 at Cripple Creek Country Club.

Reagan Garnsey, a junior golfer playing out of Wild Quail Golf & Country Club, finished four strokes back to take second in the championship bracket. Garnsey also won first place in the Delaware State Golf Association Junior Girls’ Championship July 9 at Mulligan’s Pointe.

In the Women’s Amateur first flight, Theresa Hoffman won first-place gross with Debbie Ryan in second. Bernie Weed won first-place gross in the second flight, followed by Keven Lawson. LuAnn Mason won first-place gross in the third flight, with Ginny Ferrara-Dellose in second.

Elks Club outing seeks sponsors and players

Cape Henlopen Elks Lodge 2540 will hold its Fall Golf Outing Friday, Oct. 22, at Mulligan’s Pointe near Georgetown. Proceeds from the event support Sussex County veterans, including financial assistance for the Home of the Brave, scholarship funds for veterans attending Delaware Technical Community College, and other services.

The $300 entry fee per four-person team for the scramble format contest includes cart, greens fees, and range, with prizes awarded at the post-round dinner at the Elks Lodge on Beaver Dam Road near Lewes. The registration deadline is Oct. 1.

The lodge is seeking sponsors, donations, gift certificates and door prize raffle items, with $100 and $300 sponsorship levels available.

For more information, email the Elks at

Cape Region well represented at DSGA Senior Championships

Anita Pettitt of Kings Creek CC continued her winning ways with her victory Aug. 3 at the Delaware State Golf Association Women’s Senior Championship, held at Heritage Shores in Bridgeville.

Jane Kuhfuss of The Rookery took second, with Sue Bennett of Cripple Creek CC in third. The Rookery’s Sue Bardsley and Lisa Dillon took fourth and fifth respectively, with Patricia Magee of Kings Creek in the sixth spot.

Dana Cooper of Mulligan’s Pointe was the high Cape Region finisher in the men’s championship in sixth place, while John Walsh of Bear Trap Dunes tied for 13th.

Other Cape Region participants included Pete Townsend (Mulligan’s Pointe), Jeff Baxter (Cripple Creek), Watty Watson (Baywood Greens), Mark Blazejak (Rookery), Steven Dewey (Cripple Creek), Miguel Lopez (Rookery), Jeff Amrhein (Plantation Lakes), Michael Reinecke (Heritage Shores), Joe Sabelhaus (Bayside Resort), Vinny Pancaldo (Bayside Resort), and Steve Walters (Rookery).

Local club competition results

The Mulligan’s Pointe Ladies 18-hole group played a low gross/low net game Aug. 3. Maxine Ansbach won first-place gross, with Diane Braver in second and Sue Ahern in third.

Cathy Cosgrove won first-place net, with Mary Louise York in second and Kathy Hudak taking third.

The Kings Creek Ladies 18-hole group played a low gross/net game July 29, with Sally McGovern winning first-place gross in the first flight. Tricia Ritthaler won first-place gross in the second flight, while Joanne Yurik took first-place gross in the third flight.

Donna Deely won first-place net in the first flight via tiebreaker over Jean Chlastawa, with Mary Ann Veitch finishing third net. Lisa Smith took first-place net in the second flight, followed by Nancy Froome in second and Jeannine Doane in third. Kathy Casey won first place in the third flight, with Carol Lowen in second and Robbie Monkman in third via tiebreaker.

The Kings Creek Ladies 9-hole group played their low gross/low net game July 27, with Carolyn Horn winning first-place gross in the first flight. Kara Bourdreau won first-place gross for the second flight.

Judy Rayner won first-place net in the first flight, with Tina Brown in second and Hope Lavachia in third. Pam Cranston won first-place net for the second flight, followed by Deb Chase in second and Francie Young in third.

The same group played a T and F game July 20, counting the scores on all holes beginning with those two letters. Carolyn Horn won first-place gross, with Brenda Schilli winning first-place net. Tina Brown finished second net and Joan Repetto took third.

The Rehoboth Beach Ladies 18-hole group played their President’s Cup tournament July 28. Dale Gross won first-place gross, with Sheila Halfpenny winning first-place net. Tina Brinsfield finished second net.

The same group played a team game July 21 using one best ball on the odd-numbered holes and two best balls on the even-numbered holes. Sally Fogarty, Bailey Scheurer, Dale Lipnick, and Barbara Collins won first-place gross, with Kerry Lockwood, Jullie Burton, Becki Hertrich, and blind draw Collins taking first-place net.

Genine Fidler, Sheila Halfpenny, Kim Stockson, and Cyndy Simeone finished second net.

The Rehoboth Beach Ladies 9-hole group played a 1, 1, 2 net best ball game July 20, where two best balls on the par 4s were counted. Jane Humphries, Leslie Lane, Karen Schneiderman, and Mary Enzler tied for first place with Bardelle Offutt, Maura Lindsay, Susan Rodgers, and Joyce McCoy. Ginger Rettig, Christine Moore, Beverly Billingsley, and Lynn Rusten took third.


  • Fritz Schranck has been writing about the Cape Region's golf community since 1999. Snippets, stories and anecdotes from his columns are included in his new book, "Hole By Hole: Golf Stories from Delaware's Cape Region and Beyond," which is available at the Cape Gazette offices, Browseabout Books in Rehoboth Beach, Biblion Books in Lewes, and local golf courses. His columns and book reviews are available at

    Contact Fritz by emailing

Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter